News 7:11:18


Stock image of books
It’s that time of year again, where many prestigious literary prizes are given out to writers of prose and poetry. Alex Regan looks at just a small selection of the prizes that have recently been given out. 

The Man Booker Prize 2018 was won by Northern Irish author Anna Burns for her novel Milkman. The book focused on the theme of sexual harassment, which the judges believed mirrored the current #MeToo movement. Milkman is Burns’ third novel.

The BBC National Short Story Award was won by Trinidadian writer Ingrid Persaud for her story The Sweet Sop. The story sees a Trinidadian father and son become reunited thanks to chocolate. The Sweet Sop is Persaud’s first short story, although she has previously published a novel. You can hear all the shortlisted stories in the BBC podcast available here.

The Orwell Prize, which is awarded to writers who “make political writing into an art”, was won by Scottish writer Darren McGarvey for his book Poverty Safari. McGarvey has personal experience with poverty and wrote Poverty Safari as an exploration of poverty across Britain. This is McGarvey’s first book.

The international Bridport Prize is separated into categories for types of writing. The Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a first novel was won by Australian-born author Megan Davis for her novel The Messenger. The Poetry Prize was won by English writer John Freeman for Exhibition. The Short Story Prize was won by Indian writer V. Sanjay Kumar for his story The Fore Caddy. Finally, the Flash Fiction Prize was won by English writer Tim Craig for his piece The Grand Finale. The 2019 Competition opens on 15 November. 

This year’s Foyle Young Poets of the Year for poets aged 11-17 had 15 winners and 85 commended entries – check them out here for a glimpse of the poetry stars of tomorrow.


The winners of the Forward Prizes for Poetry were Danez Smith – Don’t Call Us Dead (Chatto & Windus) winning The Forward Prize for Best Collection.  Phoebe Power – Shrines of Upper Austria (Carcanet) won The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection and The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem was won by Liz Berry – The Republic of Motherhood (Granta).
Of course, there are so many other literary prizes out there that it would be impossible to list them all here! However, it definitely is worth researching and finding out more about these winners; perhaps you will find a new book to fall in love with.


Also check out:
The National Poetry Library lists upcoming competitions

Neon Books' Big List of UK Writing Competitions.